Forums General Tool Talk Misc Tools
  • Topic: NEWBIE NEEDS HELP!!! What products do you use and love?

Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • March 1, 2012 9:36 PM CST
    • NEWBIE NEEDS HELP!!! What products do you use and love?

Hi Everyone!

I've spent the last two nights reading TONS of posts!  This is such a great site -I've already learned so much!

As you might have guessed -I'm a newbie! As there is no way I can afford $5000 + flights and accomodations for grooming school, I'm doing the next best thing!  I've signed up for a long distance course -and plan on reading and watching everything I can get my hands on!!!  I'm also hoping to find someone in Toronto or Vancouver who will take me on as an apprentice of sorts for a few weeks during the summer.  (I figure I'll offer to groom for free/ or next to nothing in exchange for tips and advice -since it's a busy time for groomers, I'm hoping someone will take me on!)

In the meantime, I plan on practising on the beloved dogs of everyone I know (and everyone they know).  Then I'll move on to the shelters.  I hope to be ready to start grooming from my home on a part time (evening and weekend basis) by the end of summer! 

Sooooo - I'm going to start buying the equipment I will need.   I've made most of the big decisions based on the posts I've read - clippers, blades, etc.  But I haven't seen many posts on products.  So I'm hoping people will let me know what products they use and love!    Advice on shampoos, conditioners, clipper and blade care products, etc. would be greatly appreciated!

Also if you feel very strongly about a piece of equipment - brand of clippers, blades, etc  OR if there is a piece of advice you think a newbie would benifit from - I'd be grateful for any help that you can give me!  (I'm also still on the fence about ceramic blades - from what i"ve read they are either amazing or horrible- I'm not sure which.  And if I get them, can I still use stainless steel combs?)

Thanks so much!!!!  Jill :)